Breathing life back into Margate 

Much like Folkestone which I posted about here, Margate is undergoing a bit of a revival at the moment. It’s been slowly building for a while with the arrival of the Turner Contemporary and more recently the regeneration and reopening of Dreamland.

I’ve been to Margate twice recently, keen to see what’s changed for myself. I remember visiting as a child and it being very run down, and the one time I visited Dreamland I was far from impressed!

Now though, it’s a very different story. An explore of the old town reveals a large range of interesting independent shops and restaurants. My favourites being: The Shop which is part of The Cupcake Cafe, Etc, Paraphernalia and The Fox and Spindle (not all have websites but many have Facebook pages if you’d like to look them up!). And I haven’t explored them all yet…

There are also pretty streets and impressive buildings which lead onto the main promenade which also surprised me with it’s range of ice cream parlours, restaurants and cocktail bars with balconies looking out over the main sands.

The Harbour Arm is lovely for a stroll and we were really impressed with BeBeached, serving local, fresh and healthy food.

I wasn’t expecting to enjoy Dreamland much but thought we would give it a go for the children. I was pleasantly surprised, and although next time I’d definitely buy the children wristbands, we enjoyed lots of the rides and attractions. I really like how they have stuck to their roots and kept it very retro, slightly cheesy and incredibly British!

A few things weren’t open, partly due to the weather which was a bit disappointing but we still managed to spend a good few hours there and I’m excited for the next phases of development.

We had a lovely day out and look forward to visiting again probably early next summer!
L x

2 thoughts on “Breathing life back into Margate 

  1. It looks as though you all had a great day – it’s the ‘traditional’ family days out that your children will remember in years to come. I haven’t been to Margate for years: part of my nurse training took place at the hospital so I spent a year living there and I must say reading your words is making me remember those days. Have a lovely Sunday x

    Like

Leave a Reply

