Winter Muesli 

I don’t know about you but once winter hits I like to start my day with something warm and cosy but I’m also mindful of warding off winter bugs so healthy is also key!

Usually I have porridge with autumn compote which I blogged about here. this week though, I fancied a change.

I raided the supermarket and came up with my own recipe for muesli based on a few I had made jn the past. Shop bought muesli is high in sugar so I prefer to make my own to know what’s in it and control the sugar level.

I like to add grated apple and warm milk – let it soak up the milk for a few minutes – yum! I’ve also had it with Greek yoghurt and honey. you can play around with the ingredients based on what you like!

                        Winter Muesli

5 cups of oats

1 cup of raisins or sultanas 

1 cup mixed sunflower and pumpkin seeds (I roughly chop these)

1/2 cup mixed nuts also chopped

1 cup dates chopped

1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

I use a mini food processor to chop the seeds and dates together which stops the dates all sticking together as they get covered in the seed “dust”!

Mix all together in a big bowl ensuring the ingredients are mixed up.

Store in an air tight jar!

I hope you enjoy the recipe. As always I love to hear your feedback so let me know if you try it!

L x

3 thoughts on “Winter Muesli 

Leave a Reply

